Sourdough: The beginner’s guide

A shot from above of a table with prepared loaves of bread, butter, jam and orange juice.

Sourdough: The beginner’s guide

If baking sourdough feels daunting, don’t worry, it’s not as difficult as you might think. Just ask Salli Partanen, our local sourdough master. She started out as an amateur with a simple curiosity, and we got her to spill a few of her secrets to help you become a star baker.

HERE’S WHAT YOU’LL NEED TO MAKE SOURDOUGH:
Salli’s recipe
BENUNGE measurement jug
ORDNING scale
KORKEN jar with lid
TEKLA kitchen towel
RÖRT wooden spoon
VARDAGEN bowl
BULLAR loaf tin
Knife

STEP 1 It all starts with the starter (it’s what make sourdough so unique). It begins as a simple mixture of flour and water that is allowed to sit for a few weeks in a glass jar. Over the weeks, remove a bit of the mixture and add more flour and water.

A small amount of sourdough starter is in a glass bowl with a wooden spoon.

STEP 2 Time to make the dough. Take about 10 g of your starter and mix it together with more flour and cool water. This is what’s called the pre-ferment, and you’ll need to let it sit at room temperature, covered with a towel, for 8-12 hours.

STEP 3 Add the rest of the ingredients and bring the dough together. “Sourdough is pretty much just flour, water, and salt. But from this simple combination you can make really unique breads,” says Salli. We stirred in sunflower seeds, but you can add your personal favourites.

STEP 4 “With a loaf pan you won’t have to worry about the shape of the bread and it will come out neat every time.” Give the sides a thin coating of olive oil and dust them with flour to keep the dough from sticking to the pan.

We love to see our customers get creative with our products. Go for it! But please note that altering or modifying IKEA products so they can no longer be re-sold or used for their original purpose, means the IKEA commercial guarantees and your right to return the products will be lost.

Made by

Recipe by: Salli Partanen
Interior designer: Marianne Eriksson
Photographer: Martin Cederblad
Writer: Vanessa Algotsson

酵母面包:新手指南

俯视图:桌子上放着烤好的面包、黄油、果酱和橙汁。

酵母面包:新手指南

烤酵母面包听起来就令人发怵,别担心,其实并没你想的那么难。向当地的酵母面包大师Salli Partanen讨教一番吧。起初,她也是出于好奇成为了业余烘培师。我们请她分享了自己的秘诀,帮助你成为烘焙新星。

制作酵母面包所需工具:
Salli的配方卡
BENUNGE 贝努格 量杯
ORDNING 奥格宁 秤
KORKEN 考肯 附盖罐
TEKLA 泰克拉 厨房用纸
RÖRT 洛特 木勺
VARDAGEN 瓦达恩 碗
BULLAR 布拉 面包烤盘

第1步 酵母面包的制作要从酵种开始(它正是酵母面包口味独特的关键)。酵种的做法是将面粉和水混合,然后将混合物放在玻璃罐中静置几周。每隔几周,取出一点混合物,再加入更多的面粉和水。

玻璃碗中放着少量酵种和一只木勺。

第2步 制作面团。取出10g酵种,与面粉和冷水混合。这就是所说的酵头,你要把酵头放在碗中,盖上毛巾,放在室温下静置8-12个小时。

第3步 加入剩下的配料,揉匀面团。“酵母面包的原料其实就是面粉,水和盐。但这样简单的组合就能制作出独特的面包,”Salli说道。我们放入了一些葵花籽,你也可以加入自己喜欢的配料。

第4步 “有了面包烤盘,你就不用担心面包的形状了,每次烤出来的形状都很整齐。”在烤盘边缘刷一层薄薄的橄榄油,再撒上面粉,防止面团黏在烤盘上。

我们乐意看到顾客运用我们的产品发挥创意。尽情发挥吧!但是请注意,经过微调或改造的宜家产品将丧失其原有功能,或无法进行二次销售,因此,你将不再享有宜家的商业保证及退货权利。

制作人

配方卡制作人:Salli Partanen
室内设计师:Marianne Eriksson
摄影师:Martin Cederblad
撰稿人:Vanessa Algotsson